Vincent's blog

Sony A80K Coil Whine

I'm experiencing a problem with my Sony 55" A80K OLED TV, as it's producing mechanical noises. Watching content has become unbearable due to the constant high-pitched screeching sound in our ears. After researching, it appears this issue isn't too uncommon and is referred to as coil whine. You might be wondering, what exactly is coil whine? Here's an excerpt from Wikipedia to explain:

Electromagnetically induced acoustic noise (and vibration), electromagnetically excited acoustic noise, or more commonly known as coil whine, is audible sound directly produced by materials vibrating under the excitation of electromagnetic forces. Some examples of this noise include the mains hum, hum of transformers, the whine of some rotating electric machines, or the buzz of fluorescent lamps. The hissing of high voltage transmission lines is due to corona discharge, not magnetism.

Examples

This video was captured using my iPhone 13 mini. Recording the audio accurately was challenging, as the iPhone attempts to enhance sound clarity and eliminate noise.

Below are examples of A80K buyers encountering the same issue.

Source 1

Source 2

LG

It appears that the LG OLED is also experiencing these issues, and as far as I understand, Sony utilizes similar components in their OLED lineup.

  1. https://www.reddit.com/r/LGOLED/comments/vv8pu4/lg_oled_g2_coil_whine/
  2. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZIlPP-o__U
  3. https://www.reddit.com/r/LGOLED/comments/unytvs/coil_whine_on_g2/
  4. https://www.reddit.com/r/OLED/comments/mcul8d/coil_whine_from_lg_65_gx/
  5. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AbWbtsBuBJU

Status

At present, Sony is investigating this issue, and I hope they can find a resolution. Sony has consistently produced excellent TVs, and this is the first time I've encountered a problem with one of their models. I will provide an update on this post once I hear back from Sony.

2023-05-08

Sony has requested that I submit another video with the volume set to 50. Although the sound may be more difficult to hear, it is still present. I have informed Sony that I typically have the volume set between 10-15.

2023-05-15

Sony has requested that I submit a new video with the audio set to 15. This time, I have submitted it playing Zelda, and the sound is very audible.

2023-05-26

Sony has informed me today that they are arranging a service appointment. I recently became aware of the Sony tax and I am grateful for their excellent support.

2023-05-29

The service company has informed me that they have ordered a new power supply and I will be contacted for a home repair.

2023-06-14

Sony has dispatched a technician with a new power supply (as seen on the image). Although not thoroughly tested yet, the initial tests have been successful without any sound. Fingers crossed that this remains the case.

TV display opened up

2023-07-12

I've had a month to try it out and the sound is no longer noticeable. If you listen closely, you can still hear it if you put your ear close to the back of the TV when it's muted. Thanks, Sony! I'm hoping to enjoy this TV for as many years as I enjoyed my last Sony TV, which I bought in 2015.